Elections and voting

The next elections will be held in Hampshire on Thursday 6 May 2021. It will be a combined poll including elections for Hampshire County Councillors, the Police and Crime Commissioner for Hampshire, and district and borough councillors.

The elections will take place at a time when COVID-19 continues to present risks to public health. Depending on the infection rate, measures taken to control the spread of the virus may change as we approach May. This means we cannot currently answer all the questions you may have about how the election will be run. However, we are working hard with Government, the Electoral Commission, the wider electoral community and Public Health teams to help ensure you can stay safe when casting your vote in May.

We will update these pages with further information as it becomes available.

Further information can also be found on the website of the Electoral Commission.

This page was last updated on 15 December 2020

About Hampshire County Council elections

Every four years the County Council holds an election for all of its electoral divisions.

County Councillors represent all the people within their divisions and use their local knowledge to help the Council make decisions on the services provided to Hampshire’s 1.4 million residents (excluding Southampton and Portsmouth), including education, roads and social care for vulnerable children and adults, as well as access to the countryside and libraries.

The last County Council election was held in 2017. View the results of the Hampshire County Council elections by party name and electoral division.

District councils administer the County Council’s elections on behalf of the County Area Returning Officer and Chief Executive. Therefore, polling cards, and applications for postal and proxy votes will be issued by district councils for residents living in their area.

For further information, please visit the elections webpages of your local district or borough council, as listed below:

Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council
East Hampshire District Council
Eastleigh Borough Council
Fareham Borough Council
Gosport Borough Council
Hart District Council
Havant Borough Council
New Forest District Council
Rushmoor Borough Council
Test Valley Borough Council
Winchester City Council

For further information regarding the Police and Crime Commissioner elections, please visit the Southampton City Council webpages.